Who we are

Judith Harwood (Chair)

Judith has 20 years’ experience in financial services, specialising in property and investment. Since moving to Norfolk she has worked as a consultant advising on complex change management projects in the education sector. Judith lives near Wymondham in an award-winning Grade 1-listed building which she restored. She has an MBA from Warwick University Business School.

Michael Launchbury (Vice-Chair)

Michael is an arts and heritage consultant. He is a former Director of Public Programmes and Estates at the Museum of London and Chief Executive of Shakespeare’s Globe. He is currently a trustee of The Garage, Norwich.

Stephen Picton Pegg (Treasurer) 

Stephen has 30 years’ experience in financing property development and investment transactions in the UK and Europe. He has an MA in European Property Development and Planning. Stephen lives near Sheringham in a restored Grade II-listed farmhouse which was, coincidentally, one of the Trust’s earliest restoration projects.


Bryan Gillery

Bryan is a solicitor with over 40 years’ experience. He was a partner at the national firm Eversheds, where he led the commercial property, house building and affordable housing teams in the east of England. He is now a partner in the Norwich-based firm Hansells. Bryan has been a property lawyer all his working life and has a keen interest in heritage and conservation. He has lived in Norwich since 1974 and is a former chairman of Norwich Volunteer Bureau and a long-serving council member of the Norwich Forum for the Construction Industry.

Richard Halsey, MBE FSA

Richard is an architectural historian who worked for English Heritage and its predecessor for 30 years in both professional and managerial roles, leading the organisation’s work with places of worship.  He has since served on a number of conservation committees and lectured at postgraduate level.

Helen Leith

Helen is Director of CPRE Norfolk. She has a History of Art degree from University of London and has worked at Christie’s auction house, the National Trust, run her own antiques businesses, and is an experienced property renovator.  She has also campaigned for the rescue of several important buildings.

Chris Maw

Chris is a chartered accountant and a former partner at PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP. After starting his career in London he moved to Norfolk in 2003 and latterly became the senior partner of PwC's Norwich office before taking up another office leadership role in West London.  He lives in Swanton Abbott and has a keen interest in architecture and conservation. He is also a Trustee of The Forum Trust in Norwich

James Parry

James worked at English Heritage before joining the British Council, for which he ran conservation and development projects in East Africa and the Middle East. After an MA in Architecture he was appointed academic editor at the National Trust; he is now a writer on art, heritage and the environment.

Adam Power

Adam is a chartered Civil/Structural Engineer. After working in both consultancy and contracting he set up his own consultancy in Norfolk in 1982 while renovating a listed 17c farmhouse for the family home. Maintaining a strong interest in historic buildings he has worked on numerous renovation, repair and conversion projects as well as new builds, alterations and extensions using traditional materials and techniques.

Terry Hickman Smith

Terry has an architecture degree from Liverpool University and worked for 10 years in a large Edinburgh practice, becoming an Associate Partner. He then set up his own private practice in Norfolk in 1977, working mainly in conservation, education and private housing. His conservation projects in the county include major works to Dragon Hall, The Pennoyer Centre and John Soane’s Music Room in Earsham.

Monica Parker (Secretary)

Monica moved to Norfolk in 2015 from London where she worked as a Legal PA and latterly as the legal team co-ordinator ​for an international oil company for 13 years. Monica started working for the Trust as the wedding co-ordinator for Waxham Barn in early 2019 before being appointed Secretary to the Trust in July 2019.